Skip to content ↓

Heritage Open Day

Heritage Open Day - Saturday 17 September 2022 

As we celebrate 150 years in Leatherhead, this is an opportunity to discover how the School came to be established here in 1872 with a guided tour of the School grounds and displays on the history and heritage of the School in the Old Chapel in the morning and a talk by Richard Hughes (former Head of History at St John's School) in the afternoon.

 

Tours of St John's School

Tours of the School grounds, starting from the Old Chapel, will take place at 10.30am and 12.15pm.

The event is free of charge, however booking is required.

Old Chapel

Front of School in the 1900s

Quad and Dining Hall, 1903

150th Anniversary Talk

A talk by Richard Hughes in recognition of the 150th anniversary of the school's move from London to Leatherhead in August 1872, will take place at 2.15pm.

When St John's School moved out of central London to Leatherhead in August 1872 it was the School's fourth move and fifth location in its short life of 21 years. A period of frequent movement and considerable instability now gave way to a successful, happy and lengthy existence in Leatherhead from where the School grew in size and reputation. The talk considers the early and difficult years of the School during its various London locations before giving focus to the reasons why Leatherhead was chosen as the preferred location for its new life away from the capital.

Richard Hughes was Head of History at St. John's School and is the author of 'Those Things Which Are Above', a history of the School.

The event is free of charge, however booking is required.

 

Clapton House, 1860s

Construction Workers, 1871

St John's School in 1872